Winners of the 2016 Abuja Chamber of Commerce and Industry Excellence Awards | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog





Tuesday, 2 February 2016

Winners of the 2016 Abuja Chamber of Commerce and Industry Excellence Awards

The Abuja Chamber of Commerce & Industry was established in August 1986 with the vision of being the foremost Chamber of Commerce in Nigeria. We are made up of registered businesses and institutions in Abuja and are non-political and non-profit making organisation that represent the common interests of the business community in Abuja. 

We aim at promoting economic and industrial development of Nigeria in general and within the FCT in particular by encouraging and protecting investments and all legitimate business activities.

In recognition of its growing status, Abuja Chamber was granted International Trade Fair Status in 1991 and is a vibrant member of the Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA).
In 2015, the Abuja Chamber of Commerce and Industry thought it wise to reward efforts made by individuals in business towards the growth of the Nigerian economy. This award was titled The Abuja Chamber Awards. Its first and only winners were eminent business and corporate personalities which includeAlhajiAlikoDangote, Chief EmekaOffor, Mr Oscar Onyemaand Mr. OlatundeAyeni.
After a thorough review of the award, the chamber felt the need to institute a sustainable and enduring award process with established and clearly defined criteria and metrics which shall equitably apply to all organizationsin any category under consideration at any point in time. Thus, Abuja Chamber of Commerce and Industry Excellence Awards was born.  It has the theme, promoting the Spirit of Excellence. This year’s award event is being organised to celebrate outstanding organizations that have contributed to thegrowth of the national economy even in the face of the economic downturn being experienced as a result of low oil prices.
Our goals for this year’s awards are multidimensional. As stated earlier, the awards will recognise the achievements of the winners. We would also use it as a platform to encourage other organisations to emulate the winners’ resilience and ability to face the predicted slowing economic growth not with despair but with renewed enthusiasm, powered by innovation and reinvigorated business ideas. It is our desire as well, to use the awards as an avenue to express the Chamber’s support of the Federal Government’s push to diversify Nigeria’s economic base and to shift attention away from crude oil.
Awards will be given in the following areas:
        i.             Investor of the Year
      ii.            Corporate Social Responsible organisation.
    iii.            Most Innovative Business Idea
   iv.            Outstanding Company (Commerce)
     v.            Outstanding Company (Industry)
After thorough research, and comprehensive analysis from a highly professional team of Business Intelligence Report Experts and Consultants, nominees and eventual winners of these awards were selected based on the following metrics;
i.                    Investor of the Year: - Highest deals and new Investments made by the organisation.
ii.                  Highest percentage CSR to society, based on a key project that impacted positively without direct benefit to donor organisation.
iii.                Most Innovative Business Idea - New product(s) / services rolled out by an organisation which facilitated economic activity in the country.
iv.               Outstanding Company (Commerce) -  Highest volumes of sales / export of non-oil products in the last 5 years
v.                 Outstanding Company (Industry) - Highest profit after tax, new employment, dividend pay out to shareholders
For the integrity of this award, we have chosen a Guest Speaker who will reserve the right to speak on any topic of her choice. Her opinion must be judged on its own merit. In the same vein, the choice of winners and the metrics used in their selection were not in any way determined by the Chamber.As I speak to you, the nominees and the eventual winners will only be learning, for the first time through this press conference, of their ever being evaluated for these awards and that demonstrates the integrity of the process. This practice will remain so as long as the award lives.
It is my honour and privilege to announce to you the 2016 Abuja Chamber of Commerce and Industry Excellence Awards Winners;

        i.            Investor of the Year -Helios Investment Partners and the Vitol Group
      ii.            The  Corporate Social Responsible Company  of the Year -The Nigeria LNG Limited

    iii.            Most Innovative Business Idea of the Year- Airtel Nigeria’s Recharge and Hit-A-Million Promo

   iv.            Outstanding Company of the Year (Commerce) -Olam Nigeria Limited
     v.            Outstanding Company of the Year (Industry) –Dangote Cement

The winners will formally receive their awards at a Dinner to be hosted by the Chamber.This will take place on Wednesday, February 24, 2016 at the prestigious Sheraton Hotels, Abuja. The former Vice President of the World Bank and Nigeria’s former Minister for Education and later, Minister for Solid MineralsDevelopment, Dr Mrs ObiageliEzekwesili will present the key note address. His Excellency the Executive Governor of Jigawa State AlhajiMuhammaduBadaruAbubakarmni, will be the Chief Guest of Honour, while our dear Host Minister, Mallam Mohammed Musa Bello, Hon. Minister for Federal Capital Territory will be the Special Guest of Honour. The occasion will be witnessed by Captains of Industries, Top Government Functionaries, Members of the Diplomatic Corps and the Nigeria Business Community. 
It is planned to be a fun filled night as entertainment will be provided by some of Nigeria’s popular musicians like; Djinee, EedrisAbdulkareem, Zara and other artistes. The Chamber and its partners, Brande Aristotle Limited promise a wonderful night of excellence and fun.

We welcome all stakeholders in the business community who share our vision of promoting the spirit of excellence to the event.


Eric Nesty aka LIB'S FINEST said...




Good for them.

okechukwu nnoduechi said...



ed DREAMZ said...

Oky seen.....

Juliet Iwuno said...

Congrats to all dem winners. Linda take note!

rhema blac said...

big congrats to the winners....babes aint ugly we r just broke




Nseabasi Ekpo said...


Nseabasi Ekpo said...


Nseabasi Ekpo said...


Jamila Shaibu said...

Alright seen...

chioma jacinta said...

K. * it's well*

Miriam Aguzie said...

Biko, Linda is it true that you are getting married this year? Been hearing rumours everywhere that you were engaged last year and set to wed this year. Hmmm! Ok, any1, it's all good. I wish u well. Sup with LIB Monday give away 2weeks ago. winners haven't called yet dear#Lindangwanu#

Angel Makiz said...

hope to get one some

Vivian Reginalds said...

Gd for them
-D great anonymous now as Vivian Reginalds

Linda NwaGod said...

Congratulations 2 him
Am temporary out of service
Pls try again later
Linda dont take note!

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigomma kingsley Wenceslaus said...

Ok o

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigomma kingsley Wenceslaus said...

Ok o

Owakah I said...


owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin) said...

NICE said...

Congrats to d winners

Anonymous said...

Nonsense post Linda.U just did copy and paste.RR via BlackBerry leap

Adaobilinda her sexcellency said...


Luciana Chinda said...


udeh martha said...

Congrats to d winners

kamoru said...


Recent Posts